top of page

Sour: An overhyped list of ballads or a masterpiece by a new songwriting prodigy?



Introduction : I honestly didn't expect much when first hitting play on the record that had spawned 3 billboard topping hits, because truthfully to me they weren't that fantastic. Drivers License felt like your average teenage heartthrob breakup song, Deja Vu felt like Indie satire, while Good 4 u was the most diluted pop punk song you could get from mainstream music. Yet…. even then, after listening to the whole experience, I could see why this studio album that was released on May 21st 2021, got universal acclaim from both critics and users.


Olivia Rodrigo is the newest star on the music block, transferring from an already well established career with acting and singing roles in various Disney shows such as Bizaardvark and High School Musical The Musical The Series (what a name). Yet, this Disney Star had an overnight miracle in which her new single Drivers License topped the charts in such an unexpected way, that left Radioheads (get it) scratching their tuners and wondering how such a random appearance could affect the market like this.


Then, after another duo hit of new singles (which made history by being the first two singles from a singular album to chart the billboards at its debut). Sour was finally released to the world on all streaming platforms on the date of May 21st 2021. The reception was surprisingly solid, with even the hardest of critics such as Theneedledrop and Pitchfork, giving the record a solid 7. And that's not all, as its album sales are astounding, beating artists such as Billie Eilish, J Cole and even Foo Fighters across multiple European countries (Ireland, Australia and New Zealand). With streaming numbers in the 47+ millions while only being out for a week (at this time of writing).


So what other choice did I have then to see whether the album truly lived up to the hype. And I can say that without a doubt… It's not bad. Here is now my in depth review for each track. Notes : The following are just my opinions, I do not claim to be an expert nor do I claim that I know better. I am just a person who is a major music fan and loves the discourse around music. Therefore it is alright if you hate it or enjoy it more than I do, and you are more than free to disagree.




: The punk inspired track is quite a strong start to the whole experience, with Olivia delivering punchy lyrics in a disdained manner to an electric guitar arrangement you’d find on a SWMRS track. To me the song was a perfect example of Olivia’s potential for great song writing, but also her downfalls and obvious lack in experience when it comes to lyricism. The sentence “I'm not cool, and I'm not smart and I can't even parallel park” was quite a punchline that made me laugh the first time I heard it, and the lyric “ and they’d all be so disappointed cause who am I if not exploited” definitely hit me hard and stuck with me even after the song. But other lyrics such as “ I'm so insecure, I think that I'll die before I drink ”, Just makes me cringe as it feels like a teenager trying so hard to appear as an adult and sadly there is that prevailing trend throughout the album. However, besides those few issues it is an alright track with not much to offer, yet I will admit that I'm glad it's here as it allowed me to see Olivia as more than just another sappy songwriter.


Overall score for "Brutal" : 3/5


Traitor : We move from "Brutal’s" high angsty energy to what most of the record would be, melodramatic ballads of teenage inflammation and the song traitor captures immensely what sound defines this whole album, which honestly sounds pretty good. Olivia expresses herself as if she was on a Lorde album, borrowing obvious characteristics from the well known artist with backing harmonies similar to her style, yet somehow Rodrigo still makes it her own, bringing the listener into her own world to feel her pain and suffering in an effective manner. So…. It's pretty good for what it is, but other than confetti for the album, it lives up to nothing more.


Overall score for Traitor : 3.5/5


: So, the song that captured everyone's heart is finally here and what are my thoughts?

It's fine. It's much better than some newcomers such as Dixie D’Amelio’s Be Happy (or her whole discography for that matter). But other than that last soaring bridge, the song doesn't hit me as hard as it did to the world. Yet I will admit that after listening to the whole album and even listening to it while writing, its starting to grow on me and I definitely think that it deserved the success it got. While relative to what the industry is putting out today.



Overall score for "Drivers License" : 3.5/5



: I’ll admit, I love this moment on the album , where the production curtain is removed and we get more intimate with Olivia’s thoughts. It's as if we are in the writing room with her, listening to her vent to the piano while we silently watch, letting the emotional wave crash over us. And even though the hooks or melodies in this song might not be the best in the album, I can say that confidently this is the album at one of its peaks.


Overall score for "1 step forward, 3 steps back" : 3.75/5


: I don’t think this is a very controversial statement but Deja Vu feels like a mainstream song trying so hard to be indie. In fact, slap Clairo’s vocals and I bet that with a few lyric changes you wouldn't be so sure too if Olivia wrote it. Even though I do like the contrasting main melodies and hard drums, the gimmick stands out too much to me, causing monumental flaws in a song that would be alright if it wasn’t disguising itself.

Overall score for "Deja Vu" : 3/5


: This is my favorite song off the album. Sure, it's not the best pop punk song ever (saying that as an ex pop punk fanatic) but everytime that hook comes in it energizes me and makes me want to dance to whatever was being sung. The instrumentals absolutely destroy in a good way complementing the delivery Olivia brings. And I know I said that it was the most diluted pop punk song you could get, yet its at the very least diluted with Olivia’s singing and writing style making for an absolute banger that I wouldn't be scared to show to my friends


Overall score for "Good 4 U" : 4/5


: I can’t help but feel as if Enough For You is just a carbon copy of her 4th track, but played on the guitar. And even though I really enjoyed “1 step forwards and three steps back”, “Enough For You” just doesn't hit me the same. However, to say I didn't like it is a fair understatement as I do enjoy it, is just that whenever I listen to it I feel I could be listening to the other track instead. Still Olivia gives yet another emotional performance belting about the loss of oneself for someone else, to which I could relate to as I've experienced this specific situation she was in, making it more of a bitter taste then sweet that this track is overshadowed by its older brother.


Overall score for "Enough For You" : 3.5/5



: In my humble opinion, Happier should've been the final song in the album, tying the whole project together making it a cohesive work. But instead it's found on the 8th track of the whole album, even though it felt like a spiritual release and epilogue. Yet, even if this song didn't end the project, it's a good slow ballad and I appreciate it for the honesty Olivia shows. Not wanting her ex-significant other to move on entirely or at the very least be at a better place than when he was with her. Showing her need to mature and for her to fully move on to someone and something better.


Overall score for "Happier" : 3.25/5


: This is sadly the worst part of the album, and even though Jealousy Jealousy doesn't make me gouge out my ears, it just feels like filler past Happier. This song is a track I would honestly suggest putting into a B-side instead of creating extra space and extending the run time of the album. Yet at the very least the bridge gives some interesting vibes? (yes that is the best praise I can give this track)


Overall score for "Jealousy Jealousy" 2.75/5


: This song makes me conflicted, on one hand its sonically Enough For You with gimmicks to make it seem different from the guitar Swift-esk track while on the other it could’ve served as thematic closure over the whole album. I honestly wished that both songs were combined together along with happier to serve as the grand finale and a final goodbye. But instead we receive a lifeboat trying to act as if it were the main cruise. Yes, even if the lifeboat has cool unique features it is still a lifeboat and the main cruise will always be better.


Overall score for "Favorite Crime" : 3/5

: Hope Ur Ok is a sweet track and honestly my 2nd favorite track off this musical memento. The lyrics are Olivia at her prime, playing with words and telling an emotional story through effective imagery. While the instrumental and backing vocals are arranged perfectly to push its agenda to full effect, creating an atmosphere I can't find anywhere else in the project. The only problem for me was the placement, why the final track? It didn't even tie into anything else thematically in the project? Why is it even in the album? The song that I hear honestly feels like an early leak that got into the album by accident. Don't get me wrong I love the song, but compared with the rest of the experience, its brought down by what came before it and what it intended to do.


Overall score for "Hope ur ok" : 3.75/5





Conclusion. : Olivia Rodrigo is no Taylor Swift, she's not a Fionna Apple, and she's nowhere close to being a Hayley Williams (explained here). But, in a few albums or so I think she has the stark potential to rule the pop sphere, being our generation's Lana Del Rey. Even though this album still feels like a baby trying to find her emotional steps or a Phoebe Bridges knockoff trying to be Clairo, I left with a sweeter taste in my mouth than I did sour. Now I just can't wait to see what Olivia Rodrigo does in a few years when she has truly reached her prime, but I think by that time she could blow the competition off the rocks with a single sentence, just not now while she is still trying to figure out how to rhyme cry in a good manner.



Sour's Finale Score : 70/100

*note : Points may be deducted or added to the overall score of the album based on 1. Album cohesiveness (such as soundscape and overarching themes) 2. Order of songs (whether the structure of tracks compliment each other) (For sour the final score against its tracks is 67%, an additional 3% is added on due to the above)*

Written by : Jayden Loh Overseen by : Putera Daniel Hakeem and Josiah Foo




72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page